“Portugal. The Man” is an American rock band based out of Portland, Oregon.  The band consists of John Gourley, Zach Carothers, Kyle O’Quin and Kane Ritchotte.  Gourley and Carothers met and began playing music together in high school in Wasilla, Alaska.  Since the formation of the band in 2005, they have released eight studio albums and three EPs.  Their first two albums were released on Fearless Records.  They also released material on their own imprint Approaching AIRballons through indie label Equal Vision Records.  On April 2, 2010, the band signed to Atlantic records.  “Evil Friends” marks their seventh full length studio album and their first collaboration between “Portugal. The Man” and producer Danger Mouse which was released on June 4, 2013.

Around August 2002, the band “Anatomy of a Ghost” was formed by John Gourley and Zach Carothers.  Gourley fronted the band having no previous singing experience.  “Anatomy of a Ghost” quickly gained popularity but before long, the group broke up.  “Portugal. The Man” was originally started as John Gourley’s side project, with Carothers playing bass.  Before they had a drummer, they had a drum machine and synth-loops as the backing beat.  Gourley and Carothers teamed up with Wesley Hubbard, Nick Klein (the former guitar tech for “Anatomy of a Ghost”) and Harvey Tumbleson.  The band left Alaska and went to Portland with the intent of recording and producing.  The band began to record demos in the summer of 2004, followed by a US tour that fall.  In Spring 2005, Klein and Tumbleson left the band and soon after Jason Sechrist joined the band.  “Portugal. The Man’s” debut album, “Waiter: “You Vultures!” was released by Fearless Records on January 24, 2006.

On June 22, 2012, the band’s second full-length album, “Church Mouth” was released.  The band set out on a full US headline tour with support from “The Photo Atlas,” “Play Radio Play,” “Tera Melos” and “The Only Children” among others.  They then toured Europe and followed it up with another US headline tour with support from “Rocky Votolato” and “Great Depression” during September and October.  Following this tour, they joined the band “Thursday” on a short East Coast tour in November alongside “City Takes The Square.”

In 2008 the band left their label, Fearless Records and added Ryan Neighbors, their touring keyboardist, as an official member and the replacement for Wes Hubbard.  On September 16, 2008, the band released their third full-length studio album, “Censored Colors,” under their independent record label, Approaching AIRballoons, in partnership with Equal Division Records.  Because of his vocal work on the album, John Gourley was chosen for AP Magazine’s 2008 “Best Vocalist of the Year.”

On April 9, 2009, “Portugal. The Man” announced that their fourth album, “The Satanic Satanist,” would be released on July 1, 2009.  Originally titled “The Satanic Satanist of the Majestic Majesty,” the title was later shortened and an acoustic counterpart entitled “The Majestic Majesty” was released.  “The Satanic Satanist” was themed around memories and stories from singer John Gourley’s growing up in the state of Alaska.  The album was recorded with the help of record producer Paul Q. Kolderie of “Pixies” and “Radiohead” fame.

On February 11, 2010, Gourley announced that “American Ghetto,” the band’s fifth studio album, would be released on March 2.  In order to avoid an album leak, like on their previous album, virtually no copies of the album were solicited until the release date.

In April 2010, the band announced their signing to Atlantic Records.  During the summer of 2010, “Portugal. The Man” went back into the studio to record their new album with producer John Hill.  They recorded the album in El Paso, Texas, London, England and San Diego, California.  Grammy winner Andy Wallace mixed the album who has mixed albums for the likes of “Rush,” “Nirvana,” “Paul McCartney” and “At the Drive-In.”

On August 8, 2010, after their Lollapalooza show, “Portugal. The Man’s” van and trailer were stolen.  The van and trailer contained all of the bands instruments and performance gear.  On August 9, the van was recovered but the contents of the trailer were missing.  A list of the missing equipment was made available by the band.  On August 12, much of the band’s equipment was recovered from the home of a man who claimed to have purchased it at a flea market and the band subsequently posted a thank you note on their website saying, “It is more than just a win for PTM, it is also a win for Twitter, the world of social media, the Chicago police and old school journalism.”  The man was charge with one felony count of theft for purchasing the stolen equipment.

On April 3, 2012, it was announced through Facebook that keyboardist Ryan Neighbors would be leaving the band to pursue his own music career with his new project “Hustle and Drone.”  He was replaced by Kyle O’Quin.  The band’s drummer, Jason Sechrist was replaced by former child actor and drummer, Kane Ritchotte shortly after after Neighbors departure as well.

On February 8, 2013, the band leaked pictures on Bonnaroo’s official Tumblr page which showed that celebrated producer Brian Burton. a.k.a. Danger Mouse, would be producing their new album “Evil Friends.”  According to a Q&A Zach did on “Potugal. The Man’s” official Tumblr page, he described “Evil Friends” to be influenced strongly by Pink Floyd and The Dark Side of the Moon.

On June 4, 2013, “Evil Friends” was released.  It was the band’s first album since 2011’s “In the Mountain In the Cloud.”  The album received generally favorable reviews with a 76 out of 100 on based on 17 critic reviews.  Luke Winkie of The Austin Chronicle said, “sure, their not very hip, but “Portugal. The Man” are anything but slouches and “Evil Friends” is proof that some bands get big for being good, nothing else.”  Jordan Bloom of PopMatters said, “Portugal. The Man” have created something special with “Evil Friends.”  The core songwriting and performances are top notch and Danger Mouses input adds a plethora of valuable modifications and ideas.”

This band has been working hard during their 11 year stretch and already have eight full-length albums under their belt.  They have a massive fan following and only to get bigger and better with time.  Check out some of the band’s biggest hits below and see why so many love “Portugal. The Man.”