These guys have experienced a great amount of success after only releasing one album.

Young the Giant is an American indie rock band that formed in Irvine, California in 2004.  The band is made up of Sameer Gadhia (lead vocals), Jacob Tilley (guitar), Payam Doostzadeh (bass guitar), and Francois Comtois (drums).  Formerly known as “The Jakes,” Young the Giant signed to Roadrunner Records in 2009 and released their debut self-titled album in 2010.

The band’s first name, “The Jakes,” was an acronym of the band members first names.  With two members still in high school and the others each attending different colleges, “The Jakes” recorded an EP, “Shake My Hand,” with producer Ian Kirkpatrick and decided to put their schooling on hold to focus on music.  In 2009, the band played four shows at the South by Southwest music festival in Austin, Texas.  The band’s song “Texas Tea” was played during an episode of MTV’s “The Real World: Brooklyn” and their song “Paid the Piper” was featured on A&E’s “The Beast.”  Their song “Cough Syrup” recieved airplay on the Los Angeles radio station KROQ.  In December 2009, the band announced that they had changed their name to “Young the Giant.”

Young the Giant spent 2010 touring with “Minus the Bear” and “Steel Train” while working on their debut album with producer Joe Chiccarelli.  After they finished recording in early June, they played additional shows with “Marina and the Diamonds,” “The Futureheads,” “Neon Trees” and “New Politics.”  Several songs including “My Body,” “I Got” and “Strings” were leaked online in advance of the album’s release.  On October 6, Roadrunner Records released their debut album digitally.  Amazon.com hailed the album as the third best rock album of 2010.  The album was physically released in the U.S. on January 25, 2011.  It was released in the U.K. on May 2, 2011.

In March, Young the Giant headlined the Billboard Showcase at South by Southwest in Austin, Texas.  In May, the band played the Sasquatch! Music Festival, the BBC’s “Later…with Jools Holland” and “The Great Escape Festival in Brighton.  English singer Morrissey, on the fan site, “True To You,” declared Young the Giant as one of his favorite new bands.  The band was named MTV’s “PUSH Artist of the Week” on July 4, 2011.

Young the Giant performed at the 2011 MTV Video Music Awards on August 28.  The band began a tour with “Incubus” two days later.  The exposure from the VMA performance propelled Young the Giant into the Billboard 200 album chart, where it peaked at 42.  Sales for “My Body” on Itunes climbed 220 percent which helped the single reach number 65 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

The band released a music video for a non-album track “West Virginia” in January 2012 and started their first major headlining tour in February 2012.  The band also headlined mtvU’s first ever Woodies Tour which began later in January.  Darren Criss’ character Blaine Anderson from the popular TV show “Glee” did a cover of Young the Giant’s “Cough Syrup” on the season three episode titled “On My Way.”  It was featured as the song during the attempted suicide scene with Max Adler’s character Dave Karofsky.

On October 28, 2013, the band released “It’s About Time,” the first single off of the bands upcoming second album, “Mind Over Matter.”  On December 9, 2013, the band released “Crystallized,” another single from the album.  The album is set to be released on January 21, 2014 through the record label Fueled By Ramen.  The band has recruited grammy-nominated producer Justin Meldal-Johnsen to help produce the album.

These guys have seen a great amount of success off of their first album.  With great singles like “My Body” and “Cough Syrup,” it was kind of inevitable that success would follow.  They have such an easy-going indie rock sound that anyone who listens will instantly be hooked to their catchy choruses and laid-back, easy to hear vocals.  These guys are still up-and-coming but I have a feeling that their next album, “Mind Over Matter” will be great.  Check out the bands music videos below and be on the lookout for their next album that will be here soon.