cabininthewoods

 

I heard all of the hype. I heard people say it was crazy and completely unexpected. Now I can say with confidence that Drew Goddard’s “Cabin in the Woods” is both brilliant and one of the most original horror movies in years.

The Plot: Five teenagers head off to a secluded cabin in the woods. They arrive to find that they are quite isolated with no means of communicating with the outside world. When a cellar door flings itself open, they of course go down to investigate. Down there they find an odd assortment of relics and curios but when one of the women, Dana, reads from a book, she awakens a family of deadly zombies. There is far more going on however than meets the eye as the five campers are all under observation.

Personally, I thought the plot of the entire movie was great. I starts off just like every other hack-and-slash film but then does a complete 180. Towards the end, I had no Idea what was coming, which is why I love this film so much. For to long has the hack-and-slash horror genre been drowning in the predictable and the cliched. “Cabin in the Woods” has many moments where it seems like the filmmakers openly mock the cliches and yet they also expand upon them. They kind of give the audience an explanation to the cliches and to why they occur. Overall, the plot was great and kept me on my toes as to what would happen next.

The Characters: The movie also had a great cast to go along with it. Each playing the typical role of someone that you’d see in a hack-and-slash horror movie. We have the overly sexual slutty girl played by Anna Hutchinson, we have the jock, meat-head played by Chris Hemsworth, we have the perma-stoned stoner played by Fran Kranz, and we have the innocent virgin played by Kristen Connolly. They are exactly what you’d expect from a film of this genre and yet there is more to them than there seems as well.

Special Effects: The movie does not disappoint in the effects and make-up department. With a budget of $30 million to make the film, the money is defiantly well spent, especially towards the end of the film.

Overall: I defiantly suggest seeing this movie, even if you are not a fan of horror movies or the hack-and-slash genre, like me. With the crazy original plot, and the deeper thoughts that went into this films story, I guarantee you won’t be disappointed .

