afd55b371b11a76e41f83fd7e2bba4d7_large

I just found out about these guys thanks to a buddy of mine and they are pretty awesome. I Fight Dragons is a rock band from Chicago that plays a combination of pop/rock with chiptune, which is electronic sounds made using Nintendo Game Boys and old Nintendo systems.

The band has major geek appeal, with constant references to video games throughout their songs and I think that just makes me like them more. I, myself, am a lover of video games and when I hear those little 8-bit sounds, it gives me a little nostalgia.

The band released one full-length album “KABOOM!,” back in 2011. They also have released two EPs, 2009’s “Cool Is Just A Number,” and 2010’s “Welcome To The Breakdown.”

They first started touring the US with MC Chris and Whole Wheat Bread in 2009. In 2010, they toured with 3OH!3, Cobra Starship, and Travie McCoy. In 2011 they toured with The Protomen. And all throughout 2012, they toured with the Vans Warped Tour. Also during 2012, they went on their first national headlining tour “The War of Cyborg Liberation Tour” with openers MC Lars and Skyfox.

The band is currently in the studio recording their next album which is set to be released sometime in 2013. The bands lead singer, Brian Mazzaferri, also announced that the band would be branching out by planning to write a “Chiptune Rock Opera” sometime in the coming year.

The band has a lot of interesting songs. My favorite is their single, “The Geeks Will Inherit The Earth.” I’ll leave that single and a few others for you so you can hear the band for yourself.






